Charlotte County, FL Logo

18500 Murdock Circle
Port Charlotte, FL 33948

Mobile Menu close icon
close search

Tourist Development Council

The Tourist Development Council (TDC) is mandated by state statute and enforced within Charlotte County. The Chair of the Board of County Commissioners, or other such member of the Board designated by the Chair, shall serve as the Chair of the TDC. The council is composed of eight members with a ninth member being the Chair of the TDC.

​​​​Meeting Schedule

The Tourist Development Council (TDC) meets on the second or third Friday of February, April, June, August, October and December in the Murdock Administration Center, Room #106-B at 18500 Murdock Circle, Port Charlotte at 9:00 a.m. For more information, call 941.743.1900.

Roles and Responsibilities

The Tourist Development Council (TDC) oversees the operations of the Punta Gorda/Englewood Beach Visitor & Convention Bureau (VCB). Other functions, powers, and duties of the TDC are as follows:

  • To define the VCB's purpose and establish its governing principles.
  • To provide advice and consent with regard to policy and goals.
  • To approve the annual operating budget and monitor the VCB's finances.
  • To represent the VCB’s interests to external audiences.
  • To serve as an advocate for tourism and destination issues.

Event Development Program

The Charlotte County Event Development Program (EDP) provides funding to assist in the development of new events which promote Charlotte County as a tourist destination for visitors.


Sean Doherty - Staff Liaison, Tourism Director
Phone: 941.743.1900
Fax: 941.764.4932

Punta Gorda/Englewood Visitor & Convention Bureau
1700 Tamiami Trl, G-2, Port Charlotte, FL 33948

Council Members

Christopher Constance - Chairman, Commissioner, Charlotte County

Kathy Burnam - Tourism Accommodation Member, Marketing & Events Manager, Fishermen's Village

Donna Peterman - Elected Municipal Officer, Council Member, City of Punta Gorda

Keith Farlow - Tourism Industry Member, Owner, Farlow's on the Water

David Haynes - Tourism Accommodation Member, President, Tarpon Real Estate, Inc.

Mark Kuharski - Elected Municipal Officer, Council Member, City of Punta Gorda

Robin Madden - Tourism Accommodation Member, Owner, Islander Properties

Gary Butler - Tourism Industry Member, Executive Director, Military Heritage Museum

Kelly Williamson - Tourism Accommodation Member, Director of Sales & Marketing, Four Points by Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside

Delivering Exceptional Service

Questions? Issues?

Contact Us