Charlotte County Community Development Department

18400 Murdock Circle, Port Charlotte, FL 33948 Phone: 941.743.1201 Fax: 941.743.1213 Zoning: 941.743.1964 www.CharlotteCountyFL.gov

"Delivering Exceptional Service"

DRIVER PERMIT APPLICATION

A criminal history check is required for all applicants for Vehicle for Hire drivers. The applicant must arrange for this check to be completed by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (https://web.fdle.state.fl.us/search/app/default) & emailed to Shawn.Horton@CharlotteCountyFL.gov. Your application will not be deemed complete until the criminal background check is received. Upon approval of the background check, you will be notified to return to the Community Development Department to receive the Driver's Permit. Once the permit is issued, you are required to obtain a Local Business Tax Receipt (LBTR).

| ame of Applicant: | | | | | | |
|----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|------------------------------------------------------------------|--------------------------------------------------|------------------------------------------------|--------------|---------------------------|
| (First) | | (Middle) | | (Last) | | |
| esent Address: | | (5): | | (6) | | (- ;) |
| (Street) | | (City) | | (State) | | (Zip) |
| ome Phone Number: | Fax N | Number: | Email Add | ress: | | |
| ate of Birth: | Height: | | Weight: | | Race: | |
| lor of Hair: | | | Driver's License # | | | |
| me of Company Driving F | or: | | | | | |
| dress of Company: | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | |
| (Str | reet) | (City) | | (State) | | (Zip) |
| (Str | reet) | (City) , do soler | • | regoing is a tru | | ect stateme |
| ohoto will be taken by this pire annually on Septembe | department at a charge er 30th at midnight. | (City), do soler of \$2.00. Approval | l of application should | regoing is a tru | | ect stateme |
| ohoto will be taken by this pire annually on Septembe The Driver's Permit r | department at a charge er 30th at midnight. | (City), do soler of \$2.00. Approval | l of application should | regoing is a tru | | ect stateme |
| ohoto will be taken by this pire annually on September The Driver's Permit reate of Florida, County of | department at a charge er 30th at midnight. | (City), do soler of \$2.00. Approval | of application should to the vehicle occ | regoing is a tru take approxim upants.** | nately one v | ect stateme |
| ohoto will be taken by this pire annually on September. The Driver's Permit relate of Florida, County of the foregoing instrument was | department at a charge er 30th at midnight. | (City) , do soler of \$2.00. Approval usly displayed t me this | of application should to the vehicle occ | take approximupants.** | nately one v | veek. Perm |
| ohoto will be taken by this pire annually on Septembe The Driver's Permit r ate of Florida, County of e foregoing instrument wa | department at a charge er 30th at midnight. must be conspicuou as acknowledged before | (City), do soler of \$2.00. Approval usly displayed t me thiswho | to the vehicle occ day of is personally known t | take approximupants.** 20 o me OR who h | nately one v | ect stateme veek. Perm |
| ohoto will be taken by this pire annually on September The Driver's Permit relate of Florida, County of ge foregoing instrument was | department at a charge er 30th at midnight. must be conspicuous as acknowledged before | (City), do soler of \$2.00. Approval usly displayed t me thiswho | to the vehicle occ day of is personally known t | take approximupants.** 20 o me OR who h | nately one v | ect stateme veek. Perm |
| ohoto will be taken by this pire annually on September The Driver's Permit relate of Florida, County of ge foregoing instrument was | department at a charge er 30th at midnight. must be conspicuous as acknowledged before | (City), do soler of \$2.00. Approval usly displayed t me thiswho | to the vehicle occ day of is personally known to | take approximupants.** 20 o me OR who h | nately one v | ect stateme veek. Perm |
| ohoto will be taken by this pire annually on September The Driver's Permit relate of Florida, County of the foregoing instrument was | department at a charge er 30th at midnight. must be conspicuous as acknowledged before | (City), do soler of \$2.00. Approval usly displayed t me thiswho | to the vehicle occ day of is personally known to | take approximupants.** 20 o me OR who h | nately one v | ect stateme week. Perm |

Community Development Department

Licensing & Building Code Compliance

18400 Murdock Circle, Port Charlotte, FL 33948 Phone: 941.743.1201 Fax: 941.764.4907 www.CharlotteCountyFL.gov

"To exceed expectations in the delivery of public services"

Vehicle For Hire/Taxi - Driver's Permit Rules and Procedures

The applicant will receive the Driver's Permit application from the Charlotte County Community Development Department and will be informed of the following procedures for the application process:

- 1. Submit a complete and notarized Driver's Permit application to the Charlotte County Community Development Department along with a copy of a current driver's license and the \$30.00 application fee (made payable to the Charlotte County Board of County Commissioners).
- 2. A two inch by two inch passport type photo will be required and can be obtained at the Charlotte County Community Development Department for a fee of \$2.00.
- 3. Prior to issuance of any driver permit, a copy of the application shall be forwarded to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) in order to give that agency an opportunity to review the application together with a written request for information regarding the existence of any criminal history for all persons listed on the application. The web site to apply online is: https://web.fdle.state.fl.us/search/app/default. The applicant and each other person making an information request of the FDLE shall give written directions to the FDLE to deliver any applicable information to the County Administrator or his/her designee along with the fingerprints and photograph to be attached to and form a part of the application. The results of this shall be e-mailed directly from FDLE to Shawn.Horton@CharlotteCountyFL.gov. If the results of the investigation reveal any one (1) or more of the following, the applicant shall be denied a permit:
 - (a) Conviction in the past five (5) years of any felony;
- (b) Conviction within the past three (3) years of any crime involving the sale or possession of controlled substances as defined by section 893.03, Florida Statutes, or the RICO Act, Chapter 895, Florida Statutes;
- (c) Conviction in the past three (3) years of driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or with an unlawful blood alcohol level;
- (d) A finding of guilt or a plea of guilty or a plea of nolo contendere to a felony, misdemeanor or ordinance, any of which involve moral turpitude, or to any of the offenses listed in subsections (1), (2), or (3) of this section, within the past three (3) years, or five (5) years if a felony. Moral turpitude shall be as defined in statutes, case law, or ordinance. This subsection applies notwithstanding suspension of sentence or withholding of adjudication or sentencing;
- (e) Requirement to register as a sexual offender/sexual predator, career offender or convicted felon pursuant to Section 775.13, 775.21, 775.261, 943.0435, or 944.607 Florida Statutes;
 - (f) Submission of false or materially misleading statements on such application;
 - (g) On parole at the time of application.
- 4. The applicant will be notified by phone of acceptance and will be informed to return to the Charlotte County Community Development Department to receive the Driver's Permit. In the case of an application denial, the applicant will be notified in writing stating the cause of denial.
- 5. The Driver's Permit must be conspicuously displayed to the vehicle occupants.
- 6. Driver's Permits expire on September 30th of each year. Renewal notices will be mailed to the permit holder in August.

Rules Applying to Revocation or Suspension of Vehicle or Driver Permits

Under Ordinance 97-38

In the event that the County Administrator seeks to revoke a vehicle permit under the provisions of Article II, Section 6(a) of Ordinance 97-38, to revoke a driver's permit under the provisions of Article III, Section 7 of Ordinance 97-38, or to place a driver's permit in abeyance pursuant to Article III Section 3(b) of Ordinance 97-38, the County Administrator shall first seek and review the advice and counsel of the Office of the County Attorney prior to any final decision.

Vehicle For Hire/Taxi - Vehicle Permit Rules and Procedures, Page 2

Each business operating in Charlotte County will receive the Vehicle Permit application from the Charlotte County Community Development Department and be informed of the following procedures for the application process:

- 1. The vehicle is to be inspected by a State Certified licensed mechanic who is not an employee of the person or company owning or using the vehicle. The mechanic will use the Vehicle for Hire Inspection Form, completing one form for each vehicle. Vehicle for Hire Inspection Forms are available at the Charlotte County Community Development Department. After a successful inspection of the vehicle, the applicant will submit the Vehicle for Hire Inspection Forms to the Charlotte County Community Development.
- 2. An automobile certificate of liability and property insurance must be received directly from an insurance company listing the Charlotte County Community Development Licensing Office as the certificate holder with a best rating of B or better and authorized to do business in the State of Florida. The policy shall secure against loss sustained by reason of death or injury to persons and loss or damage to property in the following amounts:
 - (a) In the amount of \$125,000 because of bodily injury to, or death or one person in any one accident;
 - (b) Subject to such limits for one person, in the amount of \$300,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, two or more persons in any one accident; and
 - (c) In the amount of \$100,000 because of injury to, or destruction of, property of others in any one accident.

The policy certificate must also show that, in the event of cancellation, written notice will be provided to the Licensing Office at least ten (10) days prior to cancellation.

Expiration or cancellation of insurance will void the Vehicle Permit.

- 3. Submit a complete and **notarized** Vehicle Permit application to the Charlotte County Community Development Department along with the \$30.00 application fee (made payable to the Charlotte County Board of County Commissioners).
- 4. Show evidence that the company has an Local Business Tax Receipt
- 5. Once the vehicle permit is issued bearing the **Vehicle Permit Number**, the vehicle must have the **company** name, company phone number and the Vehicle Permit Number prominently displayed by painting or permanently affixing the vehicle permit number on the vehicle with a minimum of three (3) inch letters.
- 6. Vehicle Permits are not transferable.
- 7. Vehicle Permits expire annually at midnight, September 30th. Renewal notices will be mailed to the permit holder in August.

Rules Applying to Revocation or Suspension of Vehicle or Driver Permits
Under Ordinance 97-38

In the event that the County Administrator seeks to revoke a vehicle permit under the provisions of Article II, Section 6(a) of Ordinance 97-38, to revoke a driver's permit under the provisions of Article III, Section 7 of Ordinance 97-38, or to place a driver's permit in abeyance pursuant to Article III Section 3(b) of Ordinance 97-38, the County Administrator shall first seek and review the advice and counsel of the Office of the County Attorney prior to any final decision.